Nominees sought for women’s ag award

By Gary Sliworsky
Ag rep, Emo

Farm Credit Canada (FCC) is seeking nominations for the 2012 FCC Rosemary Davis Award, which honours women who are active leaders in Canadian agriculture.
These women are role models for the rest of us, and give of themselves in their communities and beyond.
FCC is looking for five women who deserve recognition for their achievements in the agriculture industry.
They can be producers, agri-business operators, agrologists, teachers, veterinarians, researchers, volunteers, or have another valuable connection to agriculture.
Individuals are encouraged to take the time to recognize a woman they see making a difference in the agriculture industry. Self-nominations also are encouraged.
Candidates are selected based on their demonstration of leadership, giving back to their community and Canadian agriculture, their display of passion for agriculture, and their vision for the future of the industry.
The FCC Rosemary Davis award was created and named after a successful Canadian agri-business owner and operator, and the first female chair of the FCC board of directors.
The winners will be announced in the spring. They will receive a trip to attend the 2012 Simmons School of Management’s premier leadership conference for women in Boston.
This will be an excellent opportunity for them to network not only with each other, but also to learn from some of the world’s most accomplished women.
To be eligible for the FCC Rosemary Davis Award, nominees must be a Canadian female who is 21 years of age or older and actively involved in agriculture.
Here are the questions you’ll need to address in your submission:
•How is the nominee involved in Canadian agriculture?
•How does the nominee demonstrate a commitment to agriculture?
•What kinds of agriculture-related organizations is the nominee involved with (past and present)?
•Describe how the nominee’s leadership has benefited agriculture and/or rural Canada.
Fill out the online application at
Applications must be submitted before Jan. 23. Previous nominees who did not win in the last three years can re-apply.
For more information, call 1-888-332-3301 or e-mail

Posted in Uncategorized