Chapple council discusses dump

Chapple council discussed the problem arising from the locking of the Richardson Dump at its regular meeting in August.
It was decided that a new road be built along the west side of the municipal property to join up with the unopened road allowance going north.
In other news, Chapple council discussed the formation of a committee to help with the continued planning of the RV park there. Rick Neilson volunteered to chair the meeting.
Meanwhile, it was learned that both the Chapple North rink and the Barwick rink are need of extensive repairs. Council asked that Clerk Doris Dyson look into the cost of repairs and possible funding sources.
Council also carried a resolution that approved the township’s enrolment with the Municipal Tax Equity (MTE) Consultants Inc. at a cost not to exceed $500 per annum.
Chapple council also resolved that one-third of the remuneration paid to members of council is deemed expenses.
Council also passed a motion that an application for interim financing be forwarded to the Ministry of Municipal Affairs for the damage to public facilities and infrastructure from the heavy rains in June in the amount of $269,723.49.
Actual expenditures to date total 211,723.49, but additional anticipated expenditures in the amount of $58,000 were included.
In other business, council:
•authorized Reeve Bill Clink and Coun. Peter VanHeyst to attend the 2002 Northwestern Ontario Regional Conference;
•authorized Clerk Doris Dyson and Treasurer/Deputy Clerk Cheryl Hagen to attend the AMCTO fall meeting coming up Oct. 2 in Thunder Bay;
•authorized Clerk Doris Dyson to attend the Ministry of Finance seminar in Thunder Bay re: CRF funding;
•approved a resolution from the City of Greater Sudbury which calls upon the provincial government not to approve the implementation of an LMP system for electrical rates;
•agreed to participate in the “Adopt-a-River” program (its area to cover is from Voyageur Panel to Norman Brusven’s line); and
•designated Clerk Doris Dyson as the Community Emergency Management Co-ordinator.