Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Faragher out of ‘Hobey’ running

Ryan Faragher has had better weeks in his goaltending career.
The Fort Frances product yesterday failed to make the top 10 finalists for the Hobey Baker Memorial Award, which is given to the top player in U.S. college hockey.

Faragher, in his junior year as a goalie with the St. Cloud State (Minn.) Huskies, didn’t advance despite having the second-most online votes cast for him out of 68 candidates in the first stage of the selection process, which wrapped up March 9.
The 23-year-old received 22,753 votes, which trailed only defenceman Shayne Gostisbehere of the Union College Dutchmen from Schenectady, N.Y. (24,608).
Gostisbehere did make the cut, along with forward Johnny Gaudreau of the Boston College Eagles, who finished third behind Faragher in online voting (15,071).
Forward Nic Dowd, Faragher’s teammate with the Huskies, is among the “Hobey” finalists.
The others include right-winger Josh Archibald (University of Nebraska-Omaha Mavericks), left-winger Greg Carey (St. Lawerence University Saints), forward Ryan Dzingel (Ohio State Buckeyes), and forward Kevin Hayes (Boston College).
Rounding out the top 10 are goalies C.J. Motte (Ferris State Bulldogs), Joel Rumpel (Wisconsin Badgers), and Adam Wilcox (University of Minnesota Golden Gophers).
Faragher posted a 19-7-4 regular-season record with the Huskies, along with a 2.67 GAA and .909 save percentage.
But the Huskies—ranked No. 4 in the country and regular-season champs of the National Collegiate Hockey Conference—were upset in their best-of-three quarter-final series last weekend.
The last-place Miami of Ohio Redhawks completed a two-game sweep.
Faragher, meanwhile, still is in the running as one of 18 candidates for the inaugural Mike Richter Award, which will go to the top goalie in U.S. college hockey.
That award, along with the Hobey, will be presented April 11 during the “Frozen Four” NCAA Division I national championship in Philadelphia.

More stories