Tuesday, August 4, 2015

Many running for election

With the Couchiching band council election coming up in March, three dozen names will be on the ballot.
Seven are running for chief, including Joanne Bruyere, Richard R. Bruyere, Armand Jourdain Sr., Shawn “Jordy” Jourdain, Sara Mainville, Patrick Morrisseau, and Ed Yerxa.

Meanwhile, 29 are running for the six councillor positions (* denotes incumbent).
They include Ron “Magoo” Archie, Rick Baker, Richard “Dick” Bird (*), David Bruyere (*), George M. Bruyere, Louis Bruyere, Rudy Bruyere Jr., Albert Calder, Holly Cogger, Robert Olen “Bobby” George, and Ernie Jones.
They are joined by Annabelle G. Jourdain, Carolyn Jourdain, Christine Margaret Jourdain (*), Michael K. Jourdain, Shane R. Jourdain, Shawn “Jordy” Jourdain, Id Linklater, and Dan Mainville (*).
Rounding out the candidates are Chris “Gubby” McPherson, Eugene B. McPherson, “Bugsy” Morrisseau (*), Daniel Albert Morrisseau, Rudy Morrisseau Sr., Brian Perrault, William “Bill” Perrault, Arlene Tucker, Dan Yerxa, and Ed Yerxa (*).
The nomination meeting was held last Thursday but those nominated had until yesterday to withdraw their name.
Eight individuals did so.
The election will be held Thursday, March 6 at the Couchiching multi-use facility.

More stories