Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Chamber holding election

There seems to be plenty of interest from those wanting to sit on the board of directors of the Fort Frances Chamber of Commerce.
At the Chamber’s general membership meeting last Tuesday, a new slate of officers and director nominees was announced.

But due to the number of nominees in each category, a vote is necessary to determine who will sit on the board in 2014.
Among the executive, Robin Payeur of Causeway General Insurance is vying against Mark Caron of M.L. Caron Electric for the position of president.
Jordan Forbes (Salteaux Consulting & Engineering), Myles Kuharski (Gillons’ Insurance Brokers), Jennifer Greenhalgh (NCDS Career Works), George Emes (Emes Financial), and Payeur all are nominees for the position of first vice-president.
Forbes and Annely Armstrong (NCDS) are in the running for second vice-president.
Meanwhile, 13 nominees are running to fill nine director seats on the 2014 board.
They include Payeur, Forbes, Emes, Greenhalgh, Lisa Plourde (RBC), Steve Gushulak (Fort Frances General Supply), Mike Vanderwater (Acklands Grainger), Travis Glowasky (Studio Gibbous), Paul Noonan (La Place Rendez-Vous), Ben Morelli (From the Grind Up), Bob Hamilton (Little Beaver Cultural Centre), and Leo Melanson (93.1 The Border).
Chamber members are asked to fill out ballots and return them to the Chamber on or before 5 p.m. on Friday, Dec. 13.
They also can fax their ballots to 274-8706 or e-mail them to

More stories