Wednesday, July 29, 2015

Canada improves to 3-1

RIGA, Latvia—Canada’s Rachel Homan made a nice draw to the four-foot with her final stone for a 5-4 victory over Russia’s Anna Sidorova at the world women’s curling championship earlier today.
Homan (3-1) moved into a three-way tie for second place in the round-robin standings with her third-straight victory.

“We’re making some good shots out here and when we’re missing them, we know why and we’re learning from it,” Homan noted.
“So it’s just going to keep getting better and better hopefully.”
The nearly three-hour game was a defensive battle, with both teams content to wait for the other side to make errors.
Homan used the hammer to her advantage in the 10th end and her last throw was never in doubt.
With a Russian guard protecting a stone by the eight-foot, the Canadian skip had perfect weight for the single and the victory.
After six draws, Sweden was the only unbeaten rink at 4-0. Canada, Scotland, and Switzerland were next at 3-1, followed by Germany and Japan at 2-1.
Two more draws were scheduled for later today.
Canada jumped out to an early lead against the European champions with two points in the second end. Sidorova was light with her final throw, allowing Homan to steal a deuce.
The Russian skip got on the board with a tap-back for one in the third end. She added singles in the fifth and seventh ends on steals.
Homan took the lead again in the eighth end. Sidorova’s final stone was a touch heavy and ended up outside the eight-foot.
The Canadian rock was just inside and Homan came through with a draw for one more to score a pair.
Sidorova hit a take-out for one in the ninth end to pull even. The Russian skip fell to 2-2 with the loss.
Homan will play Erika Brown of the United States in the evening draw. Round-robin play continues through Thursday night, with the medal games scheduled for Sunday.
Homan skipped Canada to a silver medal at the 2010 world junior championships.
She’s hoping to win Canada’s first world women’s title since Manitoba’s Jennifer Jones won back in 2008.

More stories