Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Trout, Harper selected as top rookies

NEW YORK—Mike Trout of the L.A. Angels became the youngest AL Rookie of the Year yesterday while Bryce Harper of the Washington Nationals was voted the second-youngest winner of the NL honour.
Trout, who turned 21 on Aug. 7, received all 28 first-place votes from the Baseball Writers’ Association of America’s AL panel.

The centre-fielder was the eighth unanimous AL pick and the first since Tampa Bay’s Evan Longoria in 2008.
Trout, who hit .326 with 30 homers and 83 RBIs, received the maximum 140 points.
Oakland outfielder Yoenis Cespedes was second with 63, followed by Texas pitcher Yu Darvish (46), who joined Trout as the only players listed on every ballot.
Detroit second baseman Lou Whitaker had been the youngest AL winner in 1978, but he was two months, 26 days older than Trout when he took home the award.
In addition to Trout and Longoria, the only other unanimous AL winners were Nomar Garciaparra, Derek Jeter, Tim Salmon, Sandy Alomar Jr., Mark McGwire, and Carlton Fisk.
Trout’s season put him in contention for the AL MVP award along with Triple Crown winner Miguel Cabrera of Detroit.
That voting is announced Thursday.
For winning the award, Trout earned a $10,000 bonus on top of his $482,500 salary.
Harper turned 20 on Oct. 16. The outfielder got 16-of-32 first-place votes and 112 points from the NL panel.
Arizona pitcher Wade Miley was second with 12 first-place votes and 105 points, followed by Cincinnati slugger Todd Frazier with three firsts and 45 points.
At 20 years, 27 days yesterday, he was 24 days older than N.Y. Mets’ pitcher Dwight Gooden when he won the NL award in 1984.

More stories